Maine Commissioners

Jerry Reid
NEIWPCC Executive Committee Member
Gerald Reid serves as the Maine Department of Environmental Protection (DEP) commissioner. He previously served in the Maine Attorney General’s Office for 24 years, including as Chief of the Office’s Natural Resources Division for the preceding 12 years. Reid is a 1991 graduate of Wesleyan University and received his J.D. cum laude from the University of Maine School of Law in 1994.

Brian Kavanah
Representative of the Maine Department of Environmental Protection Commissioner at NEIWPCC Meetings of the Executive Committee and Commissioners
Brian Kavanah is director of the Bureau of Water Quality at the Maine Department of Environmental Protection. He previously served as the director of the Division of Water Quality Management, a position he had held since 2001. That division is responsible for all regulatory programs for point source wastewater discharges, and point source stormwater discharges. Kavanah has worked in the field of environmental protection for 31 years, holding a variety of positions with the Maine Department of Environmental Protection and briefly with the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency in New York City.

Jeanne M. Lambrew
Jeanne Lambrew was sworn in as Commissioner of the Maine Department of Health and Human Services  (DHHS) on February 5, 2019. Prior to her appointment, Dr. Lambrew was a senior fellow at The Century Foundation and adjunct professor at the NYU Wagner Graduate School of Public Service. She previously worked in both President Obama (2008-2017) and Clinton (1993-1995; 1997-1999 and 2000-2001) administrations. She also was an associate professor at the Lyndon B. Johnson School of Public Affairs in Austin, Texas (2007–2008) and the George Washington University School of Public Health (2001–2007). She was a senior fellow for health policy at the Center for American Progress (2003–2007). She received her master’s and doctoral degrees in health policy from the University of North Carolina’s school of public health and her bachelor’s degree from Amherst College.

Nancy Beardsley
Representative of the Maine Department of Health and Human Services Commissioner at NEIWPCC Meetings of the Commissioners
After previously serving as the director of Maine’s Drinking Water Program, Nancy Beardsley is the director of the Division of Environmental Health at the Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention. Before joining the Maine CDC, she worked for the Maine Geological Survey and Maine DEP in various capacities for 10 years. Beardsley is a member of the Association of State Drinking Water Administrators and EPA’s National Drinking Water Advisory Council. She received an M.P.A. from the University of Maine at Orono and a B.S. in Geology from Boston University.

Travis Noyes
Travis Noyes has over 24 years of experience in the engineering consulting field. His experiences range from serving clients in the municipal, industrial, and private sectors. His work included site development and permitting, utility design and permitting, and water and wastewater treatment design. Noyes currently serves as the Engineering Division Director for CES, Inc., a 100-person consulting firm with locations in Maine and Florida. In his spare time he volunteers his time as a coach with Bangor area youth sports programs. Noyes is a PE and is a graduate of the University of Maine at Orono.

David Van Slyke
Since 1991, David Van Slyke has been an environmental lawyer at Preti Flaherty, one of Maine’s largest law firms. Van Slyke chairs Preti Flaherty’s Environmental Practice Group and co-chairs the Climate Strategy Group. His work is primarily focused on compliance counseling, environmental audits, defense of enforcement actions, project permitting, and environmental risk management. Previously, Van Slyke was an environmental lawyer for EPA and participated at the highest levels of the agency’s compliance and policymaking efforts as acting associate enforcement counsel for Superfund and deputy associate enforcement counsel for hazardous waste. Van Slyke is a fellow of the American College of Environmental Lawyers. He is a graduate of St. Lawrence University, where he earned a joint degree in Chemistry and Environmental Science, and Syracuse University College of Law.

Brian Tarbuck
Brian Tarbuck has served the Greater Augusta Utility District as general manager since 2007. He is a member of the Maine Board of Licensure of Water System Operators and a former president of the Maine Water Utilities Association. Tarbuck is a graduate of the Worcester Polytechnic Institute.