All individuals who enter NEIWPCC offices during business hours are required to be fully vaccinated.


New York Commissioners

Basil Seggos
NEIWPCC Executive Committee Member
Basil Seggos is commissioner of the New York State Department of Environmental Conservation (NYSDEC). Previously, he served as deputy secretary for the environment and, before that, assistant secretary for the environment to Governor Andrew Cuomo. Prior to working in the governor’s office, Seggos served as vice president of business development at the clean-tech private equity company Hugo Neu Corporation, chief investigator and attorney at Riverkeeper, associate at the Natural Resources Defense Council, and as a legal clerk at the White House. He is a graduate of Pace Law School and a captain in the U.S. Army Reserve, Judge Advocate General’s Corps.

Carol Lamb-LaFay
Acting Representative of the New York State Department of Environmental Conservation Commissioner at NEIWPCC Meetings of the Executive Committee and Commissioners
Carol Lamb-LaFay is a licensed professional engineer with 35 years in development, implementation and management of New York state water programs. She is currently the acting director of the New York State Department of Environmental Conservation’s Division of Water and is responsible for protecting and conserving the water resources of New York state through the management and policy development of a wide range of programs including monitoring, assessment, permitting, compliance, enforcement, water supply, flood protection and dam safety. Previously, Ms. Lamb-LaFay served as the director for the Bureau of Water Permits responsible for New York’s State Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (SPDES) permitting program. She received her bachelor’s degree in chemical engineering from Cornell University.

headshot of Dr. Bassett

Mary T. Bassett
Dr. Mary T. Bassett is commissioner for the New York State Department of Health (NYSDOH). She previously served as director of the François-Xavier Bagnoud (FXB) Center for Health and Human Rights at Harvard University and FXB professor of the Practice of Health and Human Rights in the department of Social and Behavioral Sciences at the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health. Bassett received a bachelor’s in history and science from Harvard University, a doctor of medicine from Columbia University’s College of Physicians and Surgeons, and a master’s of public health from the University of Washington.

Daniel Lang
Representative of the New York Department of Health Commissioner at NEIWPCC Meetings of the Commissioners

Richard Lyons
Richard Lyons has worked for the Albany County Water Purification District (formerly the Albany County Sewer District) for over 40 years. In June 2015, he retired as executive director and now works part-time as a project manager. Lyons also serves on the county Energy Advisory Group and as president of the Local Development Corporation, which governs the implementation of the Albany Pool Combined Sewer Overflow Long Term Control Plan. He was president of the New York Water Environment Association (NYWEA) in 2012. Lyons has received numerous awards from NYWEA and the American Public Works Association and received the Water Environment Federation’s Arthur Sidney Bedell Award in 1998.