Since NEIWPCC’s formation in 1947, our Commissioners have played a critical role in setting NEIWPCC’s priorities, evaluating staff programs and projects, and representing their state’s interests.

35 commissioners—five from each member state—oversee NEIWPCC. Each commissioner is appointed by their state governor. A state’s delegation typically consists of the heads of its environmental and health agencies, who generally designate representatives to attend NEIWPCC meetings on their behalf, supplemented by three highly experienced individuals from outside state government. This approach provides NEIWPCC with diverse, expert leadership. The number of Commissioners from each state may vary from year to year due to the gubernatorial appointment process.

All of our Commissioners meet three times per year. The Executive Committee, a subset of the Commissioners which consists of the leaders of our member states’ environmental agencies or their representatives, conducts four regular meetings annually.

Each year our Commissioners elect a chair and vice-chair, with these officer positions rotating among the states to ensure equal representation.


Jennifer Perry

Jennifer Perry

Jennifer Perry serves as the bureau chief of the Materials Management and Compliance Assurance for the Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection, where she has worked for more than 28 years. She is a licensed professional engineer with extensive experience in wastewater systems, ground water and surface water permitting, dam safety and infrastructure management. Perry has a bachelor’s degree in civil engineering from the University of Connecticut.

Pelletier Rene

Rene Pelletier
Vice Chair

Rene Pelletier is the Water Division director with the New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services (NHDES). Bringing nearly 50 years of experience at the NHDES, Pelletier has provided oversight related to subsurface systems, alteration of terrain, drinking water and groundwater, wetlands, dams, wastewater engineering and watershed management. He holds a M.S. in civil engineering from the University of New Hampshire.

Harry Stewart

Harry Stewart

Harry Stewart is a senior associate at Normandeau Associates in Bedford, N.H. where he works on diverse water-related projects and Clean Water Act regulatory and permitting issues. Previously, he served for 30 years at the New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services, including 16 years as Water Division director, as well as working for the U.S. EPA. Stewart previously served on the NEIWPCC Executive Committee (16 years) and as NEIWPCC chairperson. He has received career awards for his contributions to clean water policy including ACWA’s Environmental Statesman Award, the New England Water Environmental Associations’ Alfred E. Peloquin Award and the New Hampshire Business and Industry Associations’ Above and Beyond Award. Stewart received a master’s in business administration from Northeastern University, a master’s in sanitary engineering from Georgia Institute of Technology and a bachelor’s in civil engineering from Tufts University and is a registered professional civil and sanitary engineer.

By State