Connecticut Commissioners

Robert Klee
NEIWPCC Executive Committee Member
In January 2014, Robert Klee was named commissioner of the Connecticut Department of Energy and Environmental Protection (DEEP). Previously, he served for nearly three years as DEEP’s chief of staff, supervising the agency’s operations and serving as a key advisor to former DEEP Commissioner Daniel Esty. Before joining DEEP, Klee was an attorney with Wiggin and Dana, LLP, in New Haven, where he specialized in appellate work and energy and environmental law. He holds a J.D. from Yale Law School, a Ph.D. in Industrial Ecology from Yale’s School of Forestry and Environmental Studies, and a bachelor’s degree from Princeton in Geology and Environmental Science.

Yvonne Bolton
Representative of Robert Klee at NEIWPCC Executive Committee and Commission Meetings
Yvonne Bolton has worked at Connecticut DEEP since 1985 and is currently chief of the Bureau of Materials Management and Compliance Assurance. She oversees a wide variety of program areas including regulation and legislative development, coastal permitting and enforcement, solid and hazardous waste permitting, agency data integration and information management, and water quality management. Bolton is responsible for the bureau’s industrial, stormwater, and subsurface discharge programs; materials management programs; and emergency response and spill prevention programs. She has a J.D. and an M.A. in Environmental Law from Vermont Law School and a B.S. in Environmental Conservation from the University of New Hampshire.

Denise Ruzicka
Representative of Robert Klee at NEIWPCC Executive Committee and Commission Meetings
As director of Connecticut DEEP’s Water Planning and Management Division, Denise Ruzicka is responsible for oversight and funding of municipal wastewater treatment plants and water quality assessment, standards, and protection programs. She is a licensed professional engineer in Connecticut and has 30 years of experience in water resources management and public water supply planning. Ruzicka serves as chair of the State Board of Examiners of Environmental Professionals (LEP Board) and as the governor’s appointee to the Interstate Connecticut River Valley and Thames River Valley Flood Control Commissions. She is a graduate of Dartmouth College.

Raul Pino
Dr. Raul Pino is commissioner of Connecticut’s Department of Public Health. Prior to his appointment in February of 2016, Dr. Pino served as deputy commissioner and then acting commissioner of the agency. Previously, Dr. Pino served as director of the City of Hartford Department of Health and Human Services and as an epidemiologist for Connecticut DPH’s STD Unit. He graduated from the University of Havana with a Doctorate in Medicine, and from the UConn School of Medicine with an M.A. in Public Health.

Suzanne Blancaflor
Representative of the Connecticut Department of Public Health Commissioner at NEIWPCC Commission Meetings
A Connecticut DPH employee since 1997, Suzanne Blancaflor has served as the public health section chief for the environmental health section since 2008. She oversees a staff of 52 and manages eleven environmental health programs including private wells, environmental engineering, environmental laboratories, lead-poisoning prevention, and licensing of environmental practitioners. Blancaflor holds an M.S. from Eastern Connecticut State University and an M.P.H. from Southern Connecticut State University, and serves as an adjunct professor at both.

Michael Bisi
Michael joins the Commission with more than 45 years of professional municipal government experience in water pollution control and solid waste disposal management. Michael is presently serving as Superintendent of Sanitation for the Town of Glastonbury, Connecticut, and has been managing the Towns Water Pollution Control and Solid Waste/Recycling Divisions since 1993. Michael currently serves as Chairman of the Capital Region East Operating Committee and the Central CT Solid Waste Authority, managing regional hazardous waste and statewide waste disposal/recycling initiatives and programs. Michael was the past President of the CT Water Pollution Abatement Association (CWPAA) and former New England Water Environment Association (NEWEA) Connecticut State Director, and continues to serve as CWPAA Executive Board Member and NEWEA Government Affairs Committee. Recipient of Water Environment Federation, William D. Hatfield, NEWEA Clair N. Sawyer and Operations awards.

Denis Cuevas
Denis Cuevas has worked in the public sector for over 20 years and serves as General Manager of the City of Waterbury, Water Pollution Control Department since 2009. He is the current President of the Connecticut Association of Water Pollution Control Authorities (CAWPCA). His experience has focused on managing the Water Pollution Treatment Facility with a design flow of 27 million gallons a day, collection system that includes 20 pump stations and 330 miles of collection system infrastructure. He is responsible in managing the design and construction of wastewater infrastructure projects including the phosphorous reduction project currently under construction. Denis graduated with bachelor’s degree in civil engineering from University of Connecticut and is a licensed Professional Engineer in CT.

Jane K. Stahl
Jane Stahl has over thirty years of experience as an environmental policymaker, regulator and consultant. As Deputy Commissioner of the Connecticut Department of Environmental Protection, Ms. Stahl was responsible for the State’s Air, Waste, Water and Long Island Sound Programs. She now brings the breadth and depth of knowledge acquired through her leadership of those programs to private and public entities engaged in project development, permitting, enforcement, rulemaking and policy development issues in the realms of energy, environmental protection and natural resource management and land use. Though it seems like ancient history, Ms. Stahl received a B.A in Environmental Studies from the State University of New York (SUNY) Stony Brook, an M.S. in Natural Resource Policy and Management from the University of Michigan, and her J.D. from the UConn School of Law.