All individuals who enter NEIWPCC offices during business hours are required to be fully vaccinated.


Maine Operator School Resumes Classes…Online

Posted on Friday, May 22nd, 2020 | Posted in News

NEIWPCC’s Maine-based Wastewater Operator School (WOS) is going virtual for the remainder of this program year. Classes resume May 28 and will run biweekly through early August.

The program, offered through NEIWPCC’s Maine Joint Environmental Coordinating Committee (JETCC), was close to halfway complete of its six-month training program for new wastewater operators when NEIWPCC in-person trainings were either canceled or postponed.

NEIWPCC Program Manager and JETCC coordinator, Leeann Hanson spent the next several weeks connecting with students, instructors, and members of the program planning committee to develop a hybrid of online learning, testing, and a virtual interactive classroom.

The program held a successful pilot in which students completed online work on at their own pace, then gathered for a group virtual session on April 30. The new programming was well received by both students and instructors alike.

“We are very appreciative of our program presenters who had the vision to take the lead with converting their original material into the online training and virtual class on April 30,” said Hanson. “Their response is illustrative of our strong partnerships with professionals who contribute their time and expertise to benefit the industry as a whole.”

The Maine Wastewater Operator School is a six-month, twelve-session training program for new and novice operators.

Once complete, participants will have the skills necessary to obtain the licensing required to work as a wastewater operator at one of the many Maine municipal or industrial treatment plants.

Maine Management Candidate School

Members of the Maine MCS Class of 2020

Back row: Nick Tumolo – Maine Water Company; Paul Dolewa – Kennebunk, Kennebunkport, Wells Water District; Kim Joyce – York Sewer District; Stephen Ortiz – Brewer WWTF; Keith Levasseur – Sanford Water District; Bill Wilkinson – Greater Augusta Utility District; Paul Lamoreau Jr. – Greater Augusta Utility District; Bill Snyder – Kennebunk, Kennebunkport, Wells Water District; John Whitten – Kennebunk Sewer District; Tyler Mitchell – Waterville Sewerage District;

Middle Row: Rick Serino – Maine Water Company; Ed Footer – Maine Water Company; Riley Cobb – Saco Water Resource Recovery Dept.; Andy Farris – Auburn Water & Sewerage Districts; Rodney Hill – Auburn Water & Sewerage Districts; Dale Harmon – Boothbay Region Water District; Matt Patterson – Portland Water District; Todd Hill – York Water District;

Front Row; Alex King – Kennebunk Sewer District; Terry Tucker – Sanford Sewerage District; Shelly Kimball – York Water District; Ashley Jones – Ted Berry Company; Ryan Staples – Portland Water District

Kneeling: Jon Jewett – CAI Trainer; Leeann Hanson – JETCC Training Coordinator