Accolades and Accomplishments

Posted on Monday, October 15th, 2018 | Posted in Uncategorized

Holand speaking at podium

Award Winner and Former Lake Champlain Basin Program Director Bill Howland in 2012.

On September 12, the Environmental Protection Agency (Region 1) hosted its annual Merit Awards. The public event was held at Faneuil Hall. More than 40 individuals and organizations received awards.

NEIWPCC congratulates all those honored and in particular three individuals associated with NEIWPCC, each receiving a lifetime achievement award.

  • NEIWPCC’s former Lake Champlain Basin Program (LCBP) Director Bill Howland was recognized for his work on environmental issues in the basin. Howland served as LCBP’s director for nearly 20 years. (See the LCBP fall newsletter for more.)
  • Gary Lynn, who recently retired after 25 years as Bureau Administrator with the New Hampshire Department of Environmental Services, was honored for his “tireless efforts in contamination remediation.” Lynn was a member of the NEIWPCC Tanks workgroup and a well-respected NEIWPCC colleague.
  • Arthur Marin was also honored for his career at the Northeast States for Coordinated Air Use Management over more than 25 years. Marin is “widely recognized as a strategic thinker with expertise and experience. His dedication and pragmatism contributed to numerous improvements in the region’s air quality.” The group is an interstate partner.

The Town of Hardwick, Vermont, won EPA recognition for “[setting] an example of a town using resources wisely to secure its infrastructure and improve water quality.” Jon Jewitt serves as Hardwick’s Town Manager. Jewitt also is a NEIWPCC trainer (via his consulting business, Compliance Assistance Inc.) and served on the Commission’s Operator Training workgroup.

In addition, the EPA’s Ira Leighton “In Service to States” Award was presented to Nancy Seidman, who has dedicated more than three decades to air quality issues at the state, regional, and national level.

It is with the greatest gratitude that we thank Richard Kotelly for his 21 years of service to NEIWPCC as treasurer. Kotelly stepped down in September. The Commission elected Harry Stewart, a former NEIWPCC chair, to the post at its September meeting.

Additionally, NEIWPCC Commissioner Dennis Lutz (Vermont) was awarded the 2018 Outstanding Achievement in Public Works Award by the New England Chapter of the American Public Works Association recognizing his “significant achievements and innovations.”

Meg Modley, the Aquatic Invasive Species Management Coordinator for NEIWPCC’s Lake Champlain Basin Program, recently received the Northeast Aquatic Plant Management Society’s Outstanding Member Award.

Congratulations also to NEIWPCC Sr. Program Manager Michael Jennings, who was recently certified through the Water Environment Federation‘s Green Infrastructure Certification Program.


Through new contracts and staffing changes, we are pleased to welcome the following staff members:

Headquarters, Lowell, Mass.

  • Jennifer Lichtensteiger; environmental analyst, Wastewater & Onsite Division
  • Kale Connerty; intern for both the Communications and Wastewater divisions. Connerty coordinated NEIWPCC’s Youth and the Environment Program for Lowell last summer
  • Kathleen Kolva; meeting and events coordinator, Business Operations
  • Ken Ye; information officer, Human Resources
  • Peter Zaykoski; environmental analyst with Water Resource Protection

New York State DEC, Source Water Protection Program, Albany, NY

  • Carolyn Koestner, environmental analyst
  • Erik Posner, environmental analyst. Posner has been a NEIWPCC employee since 2004 and is moving to the Source Water Protection Program from the New York State Division of Water
  • Charles Stoll, environmental analyst
  • Michael Suatoni, environmental analyst
  • Catherine Winters, environmental analyst

Hudson River Estuary Program, Albany, NY

  • Zachary Smith, environmental analyst