NEIWPCC banner




Contact: Steve Hochbrunn
(w) 978-349-2513 (cell) 978-852-8233

Three NEIWPCC Staff Members to Receive Major NEWEA Awards

Lowell, Mass., December 19, 2011 – The New England Water Environment Association (NEWEA) has released its slate of 2011 award recipients—and the list includes NEIWPCC Executive Director Ronald Poltak, NEIWPCC Manager of Training Operations Charles Conway, and NEIWPCC Environmental Engineer John Murphy. On January 25, the three will be honored along with the other recipients in an awards ceremony held during NEWEA’s Annual Conference in Boston.

Executive Director Ronald Poltak will receive NEWEA’s Founders Award, which is given in recognition of long-term contributions to NEWEA, dedicated service to the water pollution control industry, and notable achievements in the environmental field. NEWEA created the award in 1989 in honor of its founders—twelve engineers from New England who in 1928 formed a professional organization to exchange knowledge about wastewater treatment. Poltak has served as NEIWPCC’s executive director since 1983.

Manager of Training Operations Charles Conway has been chosen as the Connecticut recipient of the Alfred E. Peloquin Award. Every year, NEWEA-affiliated state associations in the six New England states each select an individual for this award, which recognizes those who have shown a high level of interest and performance in wastewater operations and have made significant contributions in such areas as cost-effective plant operations, innovative process controls, and training. Conway joined NEIWPCC in 1998 after working for EPA for 28 years.

Environmental Engineer John Murphy will receive NEWEA’s Young Professional Award, which recognizes the achievements of a young professional engineer, operator, or academic student early in their career. Murphy joined NEIWPCC in 2002 as an intern and was promoted to full-time in 2004. Since then, he has managed many high-profile projects, including the recent extensive revision of NEIWPCC’s most requested publication, TR-16 Guides for the Design of Wastewater Treatment Works.

Since 1947, NEIWPCC has been a leader in the work for clean water. As a not-for-profit interstate agency, we serve and assist our member states—Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, Rhode Island, and Vermont—by coordinating activities and forums that encourage cooperation among the states, developing resources that foster progress on water issues, representing the region in matters of federal policy, training environmental professionals, initiating and overseeing scientific research projects, educating the public, and providing overall leadership in water management and protection.

For more information on this and other NEIWPCC news, contact:
Steve Hochbrunn, email:; (w) 978-349-2513; (cell) 978-852-8233

New England Interstate Water Pollution Control Commission, 116 John St., Lowell, MA 01852
Email:; phone: 978-323-7929; fax: 978-323-7919


| Home | About Us | Contact Us | Back to Top | ©1997-2017 New England Interstate Water Pollution Control Commission; Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New York, Rhode Island, Vermont